Thursday’s Thoughts….

What is your collection… your menagerie?

The Dogs - Claire and Tori

The Dogs - Claire and Tori

Most of us have collections.  Many of us “book bloggers” are collectors of literary works.   Or, perhaps a house full of the sounds of the scampering of little feet or the persistent arguing of siblings.  Maybe, you are the avid animal lover and just can’t say “no” to that face!  You just might be that music enthusiast with an amazingly diverse collection.  What is your prize menagerie?

This week’s Thursday’s Thoughts challenge:  Write me (below), or better yet, post a blog on your blogsite about your menagerie (don’t forget to send me your link).  All submittals mush be in by 9/8/08, midnight PST for consideration.  The prize, you ask?  A gift certificate to Barnes and Noble in the amount of $25, which will be on-line order friendly.

I have displayed pictures of my in-home menagerie.  I guess you can say that I’m a lover of all creatures, big and small.  It feels like Noah’s Ark around here… but, i have no Noah (bummer!).  It’s the zoo vs. me!  I also have gardens, who like the other living creatures still need my care.  I even have a garden in one of my 3 fishtanks.  People would definitely describe me as an animal lover.  I am a supporter and promoter of pet adoption and, I am harshly against animal cruelty (thank goodness they threw the book at Michael Vick).  My big passion of late has to be my 100 gallon saltwater tank.  If that wasn’t enough, I also have a freshwater plant tank (with lots of red fishies) and a 25 gallon saltwater tank. 

I have those innaminated collections, as well.  My music selection expands over 6000 songs and movie collection holding over 200 movies.  Then, there is my yarn collection and passion for knitting, especially baby blankets.  It’s a great escape and keeps my hands busy.  And, then there’s my photo collection… an anthology of my life, chronicled precisely.  This collection would be the first non-living thing out the door in the event of a disaster, let me tell you.

My daughter has a collection of prized rocks and crystals that she holds near and dear to her heart.  Her twin… well, I have a feeling her collection will be shoes (God, help me!).

I really can’t wait to hear about yours!

Dante and Tommers (Oliver not pictured)

Two of my 3 Boys: Dante and Tommers (Oliver not pictured)

One of my 3 Tanks

One of my 3 Tanks

Oh, and there's these two creatures

Oh, and there's these creatures...

15 Responses to Thursday’s Thoughts….

  1. The only thing I seem to collect these days are blogs, but I will think and get back to you.

  2. […] Sheri has a contest going on for a $25. gift card to Barnes and Noble! Go […]

  3. Sher says:

    Can’t wait to hear about your menageries!!!

  4. blbooks says:

    Here is my entry.

    My site is Becky’s Book Reviews. My contact info is there should you need it. (Cross fingers!)

  5. Carol says:

    I collect books and blogs, of course! lol I also have two cats and I seem to be collecting grandchildren. My daughter has given me seven! The oldest two are twin boys and then she had two girls and then three more boys. I do a lot of babysitting!

    mittens0831 AT aol DOT com

  6. The Rev. says:

    Hm….I have no pets at the moment (no room for any yet!), but I have cultivated a garden area in the backyard, complete with my very own bamboo privacy fence, which I’ve been tending nonstop throughout the week. Water, prune, water, prune…talk to the bamboo a bit, water, water, water, etc…

    As I’m sure most other bloggers do, as well, I’ve a collection of books that is threatening the very structural stability of my apartment…just can’t bring myself to throw any away! 😉

  7. Lisa says:

    I just did a post on this! Like many of your readers, I collect books. Here is my TBR, and an explanation:
    http://bookslistslife.blogspot.com/2008/08/tbr-day-queen-of-babble-by-meg-cabot.html

  8. Anita Yancey says:

    I collect books that are signed by the authors, and I also collect glass wear from other countries.

  9. Oh gosh, I of course collect books! I also like to keep the tickets I get when I go to the movies and other such things…like concerts. I don’t know. I guess it’s just a memory thing.

    I love taking pictures and try and keep all of mine, so I suppose that’s something else that I collect. 🙂

    -Lauren
    lauren51990 at aol dot com

  10. Dawn says:

    Hi Sheri,
    I read about your new blog over at Books on the Brain. I just spent some time reading your blog – nice reviews (I have *Love in the Time of Cholera* and *Unaccustomed Earth* on my ever-growing wish list!)

    My menagerie includes my four kids and husband (no pets; well, that’s not true – LM10 brought an anole home from a school science project last year!).

    I don’t have a picture to send, so don’t enter me in the contest. But … I’d love to have you pop over and check out my blog! 🙂

  11. […] forget that the contest entry is due today for tomorrow’s prize!  Again, it’s a $25 gift certificate to Barnes & […]

  12. […] Comments Thursday’s Thoughts Finds A New Home… « Thursday’s Thoughts on Thursday’s Thoughts….Deadline for the Contest is Today! « A Novel Menagerie – By Sheri on […]

Leave a comment