I was just writing to Alyce…

 

 

I was leaving a comment on At Home With Books for Alyce.  She said on her Sunday Salon that she was at Disneyland today (which is in my ‘hood).  The weather is AWFUL today, as it was yesterday.  We’re experiencing the “Santa Ana Winds” which literally blow the trees apart out here.  Pollen, grasses, weeds, dirt, dust, and anything and everything BLOWS everywhere.   Yesterday morning, at the soccer game, us Mommas were freezin’ butt!  One Mom said, “Yeah, well next… forest fires!”  I giggled for a minute, but thought… she’s right!

So, as I left Alyce a message, I welcomed her to “pre-forest fire” season in Southern California.  Seems I was too late… I just read the news. 

Check it out:

LOS ANGELES – A wildfire burned up to 750 acres of forest north of Los Angeles Sunday, threatening hundreds of homes and an animal sanctuary, authorities said.

The blaze began about 2 a.m. in a rugged area about 20 miles north of downtown Los Angeles, fire officials said. About 400 firefighters were on the scene at Angeles National Forest, aided by aerial strike teams, said Los Angeles County fire Inspector Sam Padilla.

One residence and three motor homes were destroyed. A garage and several sheds also burned.

About 1,200 people were evacuated from two canyons as the blaze brushed up against some of the area’s 450 homes and moved southeast toward city limits, said U.S. Forest Service spokesman Stanton Florea.

“It burned right down to a couple of neighborhoods,” Florea said. It wasn’t immediately known whether any homes had been damaged. Television images showed a trail of flames and heavy smoke on a pair of ridges littered with dry brush.

The fire was south of the Wildlife Waystation, an animal sanctuary and rehabilitation facility set on 160 acres. The nonprofit agency houses more than 400 animals, including lions, bears and deer. Officials were loading up the animals in case the fire switched direction.

The cause of the fire is under investigation.

Elsewhere in California, a wildfire in Napa Valley broke out Friday afternoon and had burned about 300 acres by Saturday evening, destroying a home and a barn and threatening several wineries.

The fire started when a car struck a rock, and strong winds in the hills near the wine country town of St. Helena caused it to spread quickly.

The California Department of Forestry and Fire Protection said about 100 residents left their homes voluntarily and more than 1,500 firefighters were called in to battle the blaze.

Full containment was expected Sunday.

Please include in your prayers, the safety of our Southern California firefighters and the animals which reside and depend on these forests.   Our wildlife station is precious to us who live here.   Like all the fires started out here… this was (IN MY OPINION) set by ARSON.  They all are… these arsenists are just sickos!

5 Responses to I was just writing to Alyce…

  1. I read about this as well. Let’s hope that the fire becomes contained soon!

  2. Oh, Sher, it just makes me sick to hear this.

    What are people thinking?!?!

  3. Sher says:

    They AREN’T thinking!

  4. Oh that’s horrible. I hope everyone is okay.

  5. Alyce says:

    We just got back from Disneyland! There was no free internet in our hotel, and it was vacation after all, so we went without for the weekend.

    I’ve always wanted to experience the Santa Ana winds just to see what they were like. After a few minutes the novelty wore off. 🙂

    We saw the big smoke clouds as we flew out of John Wayne airport this morning, and the turbulence from the winds made it an interesting takeoff.

    It actually reminded me a little bit of Space Mountain. Yesterday morning there was only a 15 minute wait, and so before I could think to say no, my husband lined us up to go on the ride. My kids were much braver than I was (although I didn’t let them know I was scared beforehand). My husband was laughing hysterically because I didn’t stop screaming until we got off the ride, and spent the whole time with my eyes closed. I’m not a big fan of rollercoasters.

    I’m sure I will have a post about the trip tomorrow. Today I’m just playing catch-up, but wanted to stop by and tell you about our trip.

Leave a Reply

