Let’s Talk Blogging

In participation with BBAW Appreciation week, My Friend Amy is inquiring:

What is one thing you wish you knew about blogging when you started or what advice would you give a newbie blogger?

First of all, I am a newbie blogger… totally addicted and loving it!  A monster, I tell you, a monster I’ve created!

From the Newbie:  When you start up your “blog-site,” make sure, sure, sure that you when you register your account that you call the Account Name what you want your blog name to be.  For example, if you want your blog’s name to be “A Great Circus,” when you sign up with your free account with WordPress.Com, insert “AGreatCircus” in the “account name” slot… NOT YOUR NAME.  Reason being… the account name gets inserted into your URL and ends up: “http://www.agreatcircus.wordpress.com.”  I hope that makes sense… I didn’t do it right and it’s taken me a while, and a new domain, to fix that!

What is your best blogging tip?

Have a mentor!  Have somebody who is experienced and well-read to ask questions to.  Lisa, of Books on the Brain, has been my mentor and I’m SOOOO lucky!  I recommend talking to My Friend Amy, J. Kaye, Maw Books, Apooo, Cafe of Dreams, 5 Minutes for Books, or Shana at Literarily.  These book review blog sites are some of my favorites and they all seem to have really great sites to link to, read, and just absorb!  (You guys are the pros!)

Thanks to My Friend Amy for the fun blog posts this week.  It’s been fun!  Visit my two contests for BBAW Appreciation Week at Thursday’s Thoughts.

P.S. – I really want to learn how to make badges and buttons… any pros want to give me some advice?

 

13 Responses to Let’s Talk Blogging

  1. I would like to learn how to make buttons and badges as well, if you find out, please post it. I would love to know!

  2. Yasmin says:

    Aaaa…thanks for the shout-out to APOOO and I’m happy to have found your site, bookmarked it and later added it to my RSS…I subscribe to over 100 blogs…yikes…but there are 10 of them that I read hot-off-the-press and A Novel Menagerie is one of them!
    Keep up the good work!

  3. I second the badges thing.

    One thing about blogging is to have a posting pattern that your readers know. Like meme’s on Wednesday or song lyric’s on Sunday or whatever. It keeps people coming back if they know what days you always post.

  4. Sher says:

    Serena & Annie: Who can we turn to with our badge questions? Oh.. pro-blogger out there… do let us know.

    Yasmin: Thanks!

    Annie: I’m doing Sunday Salon, Teaser Tuesdays, What’s Wonderful About Wednesday, Thursday’s Thoughts (a contest site)… whew. And, I am trying to blog DAILY. Lisa says that’s the best way to keep building my blog… my passion!

    Have a good one and congrats to My Friend Amy!

  5. I agree one hundred percent about url=title. I’m going to talk about that when I write my post.

    I don’t know how to make buttons either, that’s why I’m always asking for help, b/c I love to use them!

  6. Shana says:

    Sheri, I’m honored to be included with those fine bloggers. Thanks for the compliment.

    One option as far as the URL … I think you can purchase a domain (from, for example, Go Daddy) and set it up to point to your WordPress.com URL.

    So, people could type in http://www.novelmenagerie.com and be taken right to your blog. I checked and anovelmenagerie.com is taken but you could leave of the “a” or do novelmenagerie.net.

    Now, I should say I have NO idea how to do the pointing thing, but my aunt, who designs websites for a living told me you could do this. This is assuming I understood the technical speak correctly 🙂

  7. Sher says:

    Shana: That’s exactly what I did! Go Daddy and I have been in co-hootz all week! Done. Thank Goodness!

    (yawn)

    Sleepy today!

    Sher

  8. Ah, thanks for the shoutout! Making me blush. I agree with the url thing. Sometimes I can’t figure out what people’s names are supposed to be.

  9. Hi there. Checking out your blog (found it via My Friend Amy’s blog). How long have you been blogging? I guess I could always go see how far back your archives go, but I would have to go back a page. No wait, it’s right there on the side bar. ANYWAY. I tend to be well versed in internet doings. What kind of Badges and Buttons were you wanting to do?

  10. Anna says:

    Great tips! And I think you’re doing a fine job blogging already!

    I, too, would love to know how to make badges and banners, so please, o-wise-and-veteran-bloggers, tell us how! 😉

  11. Shana says:

    Sheri: I just typed in anovelmenagerie.com and it took me straight to your site.

    So THAT’S why the domain showed as unavailable 🙂

  12. J. Kaye says:

    Great, great, great tip! I’d wanted a really cool name for my blog…unfortunately, I wasn’t gifted in that area. I stuck with what was safe. 🙂

  13. J. Kaye says:

    P.S. I lost my button making thing from MS office during Gustav when my computer blew its power supply thing. Can’t get it to work…might have to invest in Adobe Photoshop.

Leave a Reply

