Oh, Rhett…

Not gone with the wind…

 After reading the original novel, Margaret Mitchell’s Gone With The Wind, and I have been riveted by its heroine, Scarlett O’Hara.  I was destined to be hooked by the sheer existence of the sequel to Gone With the Wind, Scarlett: The Sequel to Margaret Mitchell’s “Gone With the Wind”To nobody’s great suprise, I loved that novel and devoured it as soon as I received it.  Being a die-hard fan of the movie and prior written works, I admit that I may be biased in my opinion of Rhett Butler’s People.  Needless to say, I loved it!

Donald McCain, author of Jacob’s LadderI have not yet read, follows the true spirit of the original story as written by Margaret Mitchell.  In looking at Margaret’s photographed portrait, I see the obvious resemblence of Vivien Leigh’s Scarlett.  He kept this key elements and characters of this story in direct alignment with Margaret’s memorable epic.  Which, personally, I think is great.  Those who may not be the “die-hard” that I am, may only have seen the movie and not read the novel.  In Gone With the Wind, you discover that Scarlett actually has more children than just Bonnie Blue, for example.  In McCain’s novel, you follow the lives of these children and Rhett’s relationship with them.  Another character development that I really enjoyed as the discovery of who Belle Whatling really was.  Understanding her roots and history gave me an entirely new perspective on her character completely.

Another aspect of the novel that I enjoyed so much was Rhett’s viewpoint of what happened after the famous line, “Frankly, Scarlett, I don’t give a damn.”  McCain provides you with an ending that ties Gone With the Wind (GWTW) to Scarlett beautifully.  If I were to recommend an order of reading, definitely GWTW, Rhett Butler’s People, and then Scarlett.  With that being said, if you are a true romantic and fan of the saga, this read is a must!  You get more fun with Mammy, Prissy and Big Sam.  McCain’s description of both Ashley and Mellie give you an entirely different perspective on their strengths, and more importantly, their weaknesses.

According to my sources, McCain is not involved with a screenplay for this novel.  What my dream would be… combine Rhett with Scarlett and give us another 2-DVD masterpiece collection to savor tubs of popcorn over!  I’m in! 

My very best friend, from the days of high school, have made it “our movie” and watched it religiously on my birthday each year.  I am Scarlett, en carne, and Lori most definitely Mellie.  I have a gorgeous scarlett and ivory Christmas Tree decorated with the collector’s edition ornaments in tribute to my favorite gal and favorite story.  I know, I know!

McCain does an excellent job in his character development, however give you stuff to keep guessing on.  All 498 pages I absorbed in less than two days, so I found it riveting enough to stay up late for.  McCain leaves us with a teaser that this may not “nearly be the end.”  FINGERS ARE CROSSED!

Buy Books at Amazon.Com:

Gone With the Wind

Scarlett

Rhett Butler’s People

4 Responses to Oh, Rhett…

  1. I didn’t like Scarlet at all. But Rhett Bulter’s People was not bad, although when it turned the focus away from Rhett and Scarlet for too long – I got bored.

  2. Sher says:

    Yeah… I know… we did learn a lot about the peripherial characters. I would have liked more Rhett & Scarlett interaction, as well.

    Annie: So glad that I’ve got another GWTW reader!

    Sher

  3. Shana says:

    I’m almost embarrassed to admit I’ve never read GWTW. But your post really makes me want to read all three books. I will remember your advice re: order to read them in!

  4. ramya says:

    hey.. i liked gone with the wind a lot.. been too scared to pick up any sequal coz i am thinking it’ll be a disappointment.. but your review here is giving me hope.. might just pick up rhett butler’s people..:) thanks!

Leave a Reply

